Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Special EC pens for Presidential poll

Special EC pens for Presidential poll

A total of 337 votes were cast on Saturday in the West Bengal assembly in the presidential polls, sources said.

Voting began today at 1000 hrs for electing the 14th President of the country at 32 polling stations, one in Parliament and 31 in state Assemblies across the country.

Out of the 288 legislators, two members of NCP - Chhagan Bhujbal and Ramesh Kadam - are now lodged in jail. As lawmakers voted to elect the next president, theruling BJP exuded confidence that Kovind would win with a " comfortable" margin.

The 14th Presidential election held on Monday witnessed almost 99 per cent voting.

Rejecting calls for a consensus, the opposition led by the Congress pitched veteran politician and former diplomat Meira Kumar's hat into the ring. Ram Nath Kovind, the Governor of Bihar and Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha were announced as candidates of NDA and Opposition respectively.

The term of President Pranab Mukherjee is expiring on July 25.

When asked if DMK chief M Karunanidhi will cast his vote, the party's deputy leader in the assembly, Duraimurugan, told reporters: "Please wait and see till 5 pm".

Wind gusts of up to 70 km/hour expected in some wildfire zones
The Cariboo Fire Centre is restricting access to four lakes in the region to assist with local firefighting efforts. The BC Wildfire Service said the three major fires around the city are now 40 to 60 per cent contained.

Parrikar, yet to be elected to the Assembly after he resigned as the Defence Minister and returned to the state, cast vote in his capacity as Rajya Sabha member from Lucknow.

The voting for electing the next President of India is all set to happen on Monday.

Value of the vote of each MLA is 26 and MP both for Rajya Sabha and Lok Sabha is 708.

For marking the votes, the Election Commission is providing special pens to the electors in the polling booth along with the ballot paper. "There is no question of voting for anyone else", he said.

Once the voting process is over, the ballot boxes will be taken to Delhi under tight security. As of 2017, the electoral college comprises 776 MPs (Members of Parliament) and 4120 MLAs (Members of Legislative Assembly).

Apart from the state MLAs, an MLA from Kerala also voted in Chennai.

The total value of votes of the electoral college is 10,98,903, and the NDA candidate is slated to cross the halfway-mark and get about 63 per cent votes.

Related news