WhatsApp gets ability to delete messages

WhatsApp gets ability to delete messages

WhatsApp gets ability to delete messages

The report says that it will be called "Delete for Everyone" and several users have started noticing the feature in the latest WhatsApp version when they press the trash symbol. To delete these messages, open the chat with the message that's to be deleted, then tap and hold that message. If you want to delete the message for everyone, you only have seven minutes to do so; once the first seven minutes after sending the message are up, you won't be able to delete it for everyone.

WhatsApp explains: "Deleting messages for yourself allows you to delete your copy of messages you've sent or received from your phone".

Whether you've sent a message in anger, under the influence, or just by mistake, there are numerous reasons for wanting to erase a message you've sent.

"Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients" chats (*). It is unclear when the Facebook-owned plans to roll out support to edit sent messages anytime soon.

To unsend a message, simply highlight it by tapping and holding the line of text, select Delete from the menu and hit the Delete for Everyone option.

Former FBI director in Iowa: It's for family, not politics
While Twitter through their spokesman refused to confirm whether the account belonged to James B. He has rarely used the social media account unlike the current president of the United States.

- Messages can not be revoked after 7 minutes of sending them. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete the message. Once a message has been revoked, neither them nor the recipient will be able to view it.

So far, the feature is already live for those using WhatsApp beta v2.17.399 and above, but not everyone has it activated just yet (I'm now on v2.17.400 and I don't have the feature yet). But you will have to delete in a certain given time, after which, it will stay. Your recipients will still see the messages in their chat screen. The feature is said to work for all kinds of messages on the most widely used instant messaging app.

Are you guilty of ever sending a text message to a person it wasn't meant for?

The recalled messages will also be deleted in the notifications centre on iOS. Also the texts contained in the quoted messages can not be deleted.

Telling you, it's high stakes on WhatsApp these days.

Related news