Flanagan, Kamworor win in New York Marathon

Flanagan, Kamworor win in New York Marathon

Flanagan, Kamworor win in New York Marathon

Keitany, victor of this year's London Marathon and the fastest ever in a women's only marathon, had been expected to run away with the race but a slow pace allowed Flanagan and others to stay with her early.

Flanagan, 36, finished in 2 hours, 26 minute, 53 seconds.

It's been a long time running - four decades to be exact - since an American woman broke the finish line tape at the New York City Marathon, but Olympic medalist Shalane Flanagan did just that on Sunday. Kenyan Mary Keitany, who had won in NY in each of the past three years and set a world record in April, finished second. "This is the moment I've dreamed of since I was a little girl". The last time that happened was in 1977, when Miki Gorman won - for the second year in a row - with a time of 2:43:10.

Flanagan is a 16-time national champion across various distances and finished third in the 10,000 meters at the 2008 Beijing Olympics.

The men's title went to Kenyan Geoffrey Kamworor, who held off countryman Wilson Kipsang. Kenya's Wilson Kipsang took second place, finishing in 2:10:56, and Lelisa Desisa of Ethiopia, victor of the 2013 and 2015 Boston Marathons, finished third in 2:11:32.

Mobile And Sprint's Merger Plans Are Dead
If T-Mobile and Sprint had aligned, they would collectively rise to the number three provider slot in the USA mobile market. T-Mobile has been particularly aggressive - and successful - in challenging its two larger rivals.

More than 50,000 runners participated across the different groups.

It was Flanagan's first marathon of the year following a left hip injury in January.

After covering the first half of the race in 1:16:18 in a 13-woman pack, Flanagan, Mamitu Daska of Ethiopia, and Keitany threw down a 5:26 mile between mile 20 and 21, the fastest of the race to that point, and made it a three-woman race. New York City is also where her marathon career began.

Swiss athletes swept the wheelchair titles. Emmanuel Mutai from Kenya settled second in 2:03:13 followed by Ethiopian Abera Kuma in 2:05:56 and Kamworor 2:06:39.

Related news