Facebook is building a unified messaging system for businesses

Facebook is building a unified messaging system for businesses

Facebook is building a unified messaging system for businesses

For up to 10 minutes after a message is sent, users will soon have the option to delete that message from the conversation.

According to a release, Facebook will now allow users to delete private messages sent through Facebook Messenger. Choosing "Remove For Everyone" deletes that message from view for all participants in the particular chat.

Well, once you've felt the unmistakable sinking feeling of immediate regret, you have 10 minutes to delete your message.

Facebook is supposedly seeking to add end-to-end encryption to both Instagram Direct and Facebook Messenger chats, as per media report.

Once you do this, the other person (or people) in the chat will be sent a text letting them know that a message was removed.

As was first reported on Tuesday by The Verge, Facebook Messenger is introducing its official "unsend" feature.

EU Countries Endorse Venezuela's Opposition Leader
Last week, the EU's top diplomat sounded a warning about the outlook for Venezuela amid the political standoff in the country. Sanchez said he wanted Spain to spearhead a plan of humanitarian aid for Venezuela in the European Union and United Nations.

The remove message feature is available for Facebook Messenger users around the world on the latest versions of iOS and Android.

Facebook at the time told TechCrunch, "We have discussed this feature several times.We will now be making a broader delete messages feature available". From there, you'll be presented with two options: "Remove For Everyone" or "Remove For You".

It also isn't limited to texts - users can also remove photos, videos, links and other kinds of content.

"If someone is harassing you, for example, or being abusive, and they can go back and modify or delete your conversations and then say they never behaved the way you accuse them of behaving, that's pretty terrible!"

In theory, this deletion window gives an internet troll the ability to be a troll and then erase the trail that leads back to them. Click on it, and you'll delete the message in question. In fact, Messenger doesn't end to end encrypt messages by default like WhatsApp, Signal and iMessage do - that's reserved for the annoyingly hidden "secret message" feature.

Related news